Article 3. Certificates Of Registration of California Health And Safety Code >> Division 12. >> Part 2. >> Chapter 1.5. >> Article 3.
No natural person shall service, charge, or test any
portable fire extinguisher without a certificate of registration
issued by the State Fire Marshal pursuant to this chapter expressly
authorizing such person to perform such acts.
The provisions of this article apply to the state, the Regents of
University of California, a county, city, district, public authority,
and any other political subdivision or public corporation in this
The provisions of this article shall not apply to any
person servicing, charging, or testing any portable fire extinguisher
owned by such person when the portable fire extinguisher is not
required by any statute, regulation, or ordinance, to be provided or
The provisions of this section shall not prohibit the servicing,
charging, or testing of portable fire extinguishers by new employees
of a licensed person for a period not to exceed 90 days provided such
servicing, charging or testing is conducted in the presence of and
under the direct supervision of a natural person holding a valid
certificate of registration.
Application for a certificate of registration to service,
charge, or test portable fire extinguishers shall be made in writing
to the State Fire Marshal on forms provided by him and shall be
accompanied by the fee prescribed in this chapter. The application
shall be signed by the applicant.
The State Fire Marshal shall require all applicants for a
certificate of registration to take and pass a written examination
which may be supplemented by practical tests when deemed necessary,
to determine the applicants knowledge of servicing, charging and
testing of portable fire extinguishers.
Following receipt of the properly completed application and
prescribed fee, and the completion of the required examination, the
State Fire Marshal shall issue a certificate of registration.
Original certificates of registration shall be valid from
the date of issuance through December 31st of the year in which
issued. Thereafter, each certificate of registration shall be renewed
annually and renewals thereof shall be valid from January 1st
through December 31st.
Application for renewal shall be made on or before November
1st of the year in which the current certificate of registration
expires. Application for renewal shall be made in writing on forms
provided by the State Fire Marshal and shall be accompanied by the
The State Fire Marshal may refuse to renew any certificate
of registration in the same manner and for any reason that he is
authorized pursuant to Article 4 (commencing with Section 13185) of
this chapter to deny an original certificate of registration. The
applicant shall, upon such refusal, have the same rights as are
granted by Article 4 of this chapter to an applicant for an original
certificate of registration which has been denied by the State Fire
Every certificate of registration holder shall notify the
State Fire Marshal at his Sacramento office in writing within 15 days
of any change of his address.
Every natural person who services, charges, or tests any
portable fire extinguisher shall affix a tag to the serviced unit.
Such tag shall indicate the date upon which the service work was
performed and it shall bear the signature of such natural person, and
other information specified by the State Fire Marshal.
The holder of a certificate of registration shall submit
such certificate for inspection upon request of the State Fire
Marshal, any of his properly authorized employees, or any local fire