Chapter 2. Formation Of District of California Public Utilities Code >> Division 10. >> Part 17. >> Chapter 2.

There is hereby created the Monterey-Salinas Transit District. The jurisdiction of the district extends throughout the county, including all of the incorporated and unincorporated territory.
On and after July 1, 2010, the agency is dissolved and the district succeeds to, and is vested with, all of the rights, powers, duties, and obligations of the agency. The district is the successor to the agency's interests in any property, its rights and obligations under any contract, any outstanding indebtedness of the agency, and its rights under any grants, without the necessity of any further action.
(a) The district shall assume the duties of public transit provider performed by the agency. On and after July 1, 2010, the Cities of Carmel-by-the-Sea, Del Rey Oaks, Marina, Monterey, Pacific Grove, Salinas, Seaside, Gonzales, Soledad, Greenfield, King City, Sand City, the County of Monterey, and other jurisdictions that subsequently qualify as members pursuant to the requirements set forth in Section 106020 are included within the district.
  (b) Additionally, the district is deemed to be, with all of the powers and duties attendant thereto, the consolidated transportation services agency for the county, with the concurrence of the regional transportation planning agency.
Upon dissolution of the agency, employees of the agency shall be deemed to be employees of the district without any break in service or any loss or reduction of compensation or benefits, except as may be imposed by express action of the board.