Article 2. Registration of California Public Utilities Code >> Division 2. >> Chapter 2.5. >> Article 2.
Except as provided in Section 4008, no private carrier of
passengers shall operate a motor vehicle on any public highway in
this state unless its operation is currently registered with the
commission. The commission shall grant registration upon the filing
of the application and the payment of the fee as required by this
article, subject to the private carrier of passengers' compliance
with this chapter.
A fee of thirty-five dollars ($35) shall be paid to the
commission for the filing of the initial registration of private
carriers of passengers, and an annual renewal fee of thirty dollars
($30) shall also be paid by private carriers of passengers. The fees
required to be paid by carriers of passengers pursuant to this
section shall be deposited in the Public Utilities Commission
Transportation Reimbursement Account in the General Fund.
(a) When the department issues a carrier identification
number pursuant to Section 34507.5 of the Vehicle Code to a private
carrier of passengers, it shall inform the carrier of the provisions
of this chapter and the requirement that the carrier register with
the Public Utilities Commission.
(b) The department shall periodically, but not less frequently
than quarterly, transmit to the commission a list of the persons,
firms, and corporations identified as private carriers of passengers
to whom it has issued a carrier identification number. Upon receipt
of the list, the commission shall notify the private carriers of
passengers of the registration requirements and of the penalties for
failure to register.
The State of California and its agencies and political
subdivisions are exempt from the registration requirements of this