Article 5. Fines And Penalties of California Public Utilities Code >> Division 2. >> Chapter 2.5. >> Article 5.

The commission shall periodically, but not less frequently than quarterly, transmit to the department a list of persons, firms, and corporations which have received a carrier identification number from the department, but which have not registered with the commission. The department may use this list in its normal enforcement activities, including terminal inspections and roadside enforcement, as prima facie evidence of a failure to register.
(a) Any person or corporation who violates any provision of this chapter is guilty of a misdemeanor, and is punishable by a fine of not more than two thousand five hundred dollars ($2,500), or by imprisonment in the county jail for not more than three months, or both.
  (b) A violation of this section is an infraction subject to the procedures described in Sections 19.6 and 19.7 of the Penal Code when the conditions specified in either paragraph (1) or (2) of subdivision (d) of Section 17 of the Penal Code are met.
(a) Upon receipt of a written recommendation from the department that the registration of a private carrier of passengers be suspended for failure to either (1) maintain any vehicle of the carrier in a safe operating condition or to comply with the Vehicle Code or with regulations contained in Title 13 of the California Code of Regulations relative to motor carrier safety, if that failure is either a consistent failure or presents an imminent danger to public safety, or (2) enroll all drivers in the pull notice system as required by Section 1808.1 of the Vehicle Code, the commission shall, pending a hearing in the matter pursuant to subdivision (d), suspend the carrier's registration. The department's written recommendation shall specifically indicate compliance with subdivision (c).
  (b) A private carrier of passengers whose registration is suspended pursuant to subdivision (a) may obtain a reinspection of its terminal and vehicles by the department by submitting a written request for reinstatement to the commission and paying a reinstatement fee of one hundred twenty-five dollars ($125). The fees required to be paid by carriers of passengers pursuant to this section shall be deposited in the Public Utilities Commission Transportation Reimbursement Account in the General Fund. Upon payment of the fee, the commission shall forward a request for reinspection to the department which shall perform a reinspection within a reasonable time. The commission shall reinstate a carrier's registration suspended under subdivision (a) promptly upon receipt of a written recommendation from the department that the carrier's safety compliance has improved to the satisfaction of the department, unless the registration is suspended for another reason or has been revoked.
  (c) Before transmitting a recommendation pursuant to subdivision (a) to the commission, the department shall notify the private carrier of passengers in writing of all of the following:
  (1) That the department has determined that the carrier's safety record is unsatisfactory, furnishing a copy of any documentation or summary of any other evidence supporting the determination.
  (2) That the determination may result in a suspension or revocation of the carrier's registration by the commission.
  (3) That the carrier may request a review of the determination by the department within five days of its receipt of the notice required under this subdivision. If a review pursuant to this paragraph is requested by the carrier, the department shall conduct and evaluate that review prior to transmitting any notification to the commission pursuant to subdivision (a).
  (d) Whenever the commission suspends the registration of any private carrier of passengers pursuant to subdivision (a), the commission shall furnish the carrier written notice of the suspension and shall hold a hearing within a reasonable time, not to exceed 21 days, after a written request therefor is filed with the commission, with a copy thereof furnished to the department. At the hearing, the carrier shall show cause why the suspension should not be continued. At the conclusion of the hearing, the commission may terminate the suspension, continue the suspension in effect, or revoke the registration. The commission may revoke the registration of any carrier suspended pursuant to subdivision (a) at any time 90 days or more after its suspension if the commission has not received a written recommendation for reinstatement from the department and the carrier has not filed a written request for a hearing with the commission.