Article 1. General Provisions of California Vehicle Code >> Division 2. >> Chapter 2.5. >> Article 1.
The provisions of this chapter shall apply to all licenses
issued by the Department of the California Highway Patrol unless the
particular provisions applicable to each license otherwise provide.
The Commissioner of the California Highway Patrol may issue
licenses for the operation of privately owned or operated ambulances
used to respond to emergency calls, armored cars, fleet owner
inspection and maintenance stations, and for the transportation of
hazardous material, including the transportation of explosives. The
licenses shall be issued in accordance with the provisions of this
chapter and regulations adopted by the commissioner pursuant thereto.
All licenses issued by the commissioner shall expire one year from
the date of issue. Licenses may be renewed upon application and
payment of the renewal fees if the application for renewal is made
within the 30-day period prior to the date of expiration. Persons
whose licenses have expired shall immediately cease the activity
requiring a license, but the commissioner shall accept applications
for renewal during the 30-day period following the date of expiration
if they are accompanied by the new license fee. A license shall not
be renewed when the application is received more than 30 days after
the date of expiration.
(a) Except as otherwise provided in this section, each
application for a new or renewal license shall be accompanied by a
fee of ten dollars ($10) for a new license or five dollars ($5) for a
renewal license. This subdivision does not apply to licenses for
transportation of hazardous material or operation of ambulances.
(b) Each application for a new or renewal license for the
operation of ambulances shall be accompanied by a fee not to exceed
two hundred dollars ($200) for a new license or one hundred fifty
dollars ($150) for a renewal license.
(c) Each application for a new or renewal license to transport
hazardous material shall be accompanied by a fee of not to exceed one
hundred dollars ($100) for a new license and not to exceed
seventy-five dollars ($75) for a renewal license.
(d) Each application shall be made upon a form furnished by the
commissioner. It shall contain information concerning the applicant's
background and experience which the commissioner may prescribe, in
addition to other information required by law.
(a) Licenses issued by the commissioner shall not be
transferable. A change in ownership or control of the licensed
activity shall render the existing license null and void and a new
license shall be required. A change in ownership or control includes,
but is not limited to, a change in corporate status, or a stock
transfer of shares possessing more than 50 percent of the voting
power of the corporation. A change in ownership or control does not
include the addition or deletion of partners, officers, directors, or
board members comprising 50 percent or less ownership or control of
the licensed activity if both of the following are complied with:
(1) The new partners, officers, directors, or board members have
not committed any acts described in Section 2541.
(2) An amended license application form indicating the changes and
any other information required pursuant to subdivision (d) of
Section 2502 is submitted to the commissioner within 10 days of the
(b) In the event of a change of name, not involving a change of
ownership or control, the license shall be returned to the
commissioner for cancellation, and a new license application form
shall be submitted. The commissioner shall cancel the returned
license and issue a new license for the unexpired term without a fee.
(c) In the event of loss, destruction, or mutilation of a license
issued by the commissioner, the person to whom it was issued may
obtain a duplicate upon paying a fee of five dollars ($5). Any person
who loses a license issued by the commissioner and who, after
obtaining a duplicate, finds the original license, shall immediately
surrender the original license to the commissioner.
(d) Any change of address or relocation of a licensed service
shall be reported to the commissioner within 10 days.
It is unlawful to violate any regulation adopted by the
commissioner pursuant to this chapter.
Notwithstanding Sections 2501 and 2502, for the purpose of
staggering license renewals subject to this chapter, the commissioner
may, during any 12-month period, issue licenses that expire 6 to 18
months from the date of issue. Subsequent renewal of these licenses
shall be for a period of 12 months. Fees with respect to these
licenses for more or less than one year shall be prorated
This section applies only to licenses for the transportation of
hazardous materials established on or after January 1, 1982.